S SoftMaxx AI ← Peptides hub
Peptides · Evidence-graded entry

Biotinoyl tripeptide-1 and Procapil claims: what the evidence shows

Biotinoyl tripeptide-1, evidence-graded: we found no trial of it; small studies test Procapil, a blend containing it as sellers describe it.

Written by SoftMaxx AI editorial · Citations checked against PubMed records · Updated 2026-10-01 · Not medically reviewed · How we grade evidence

SoftMaxx AI sells no peptides and takes no vendor money.

The verdict · strongest evidence No supporting study

No supporting study We found no trial of biotinoyl tripeptide-1. The human studies we found test Procapil, a blend that includes biotinoyl tripeptide-1 as sellers describe it (none of the studies' abstracts lists its contents), together with platelet-rich plasma (PRP) or caffeine. In a 160-person non-randomized trial, PRP with a Procapil solution (strength in the doses table) scored better than PRP alone after 6 months; in a 54-man randomized trial, Procapil with PRP did worse than redensyl, saw palmetto and biotin with PRP.[1][2][3]

The tier describes the evidence for biotinoyl tripeptide-1 itself; the human studies on this page test Procapil, a blend that includes it as sellers describe it.

What Biotinoyl tripeptide-1 is

The EU cosmetic-ingredient database (CosIng) lists biotinoyl tripeptide-1 as 'the reaction product of Biotin and Tripeptide-1', with the function 'hair conditioning' (CosIng entry). A 2025 review lists Procapil among the most hyped topical hair actives [4]; none of the abstracts we read lists Procapil's ingredients.

Claims vs. evidence

Each popular claim, graded by the strongest study behind it. The words in quotation marks are how the claim is marketed; the text after the grade is what the studies show.

Common myths, checked

Doses used in studies (not a recommendation)

These are the amounts given to the people, animals or cells in the cited studies, copied as reported. They are a record of what was tested, not dosing instructions, and nothing here says what you should take.

Studied inRouteAmount reportedHow oftenHow longnSource
Humanstopical Procapil 5% solution + 4 PRP sessions5% Procapiltwice daily topical; PRP every 4 weeks6 months160[1] 160 patients with androgenetic alopecia (quasi-experimental, 80 per arm)
Humanstopical Procapil + PRPProcapil concentration not stated in abstractPRP every 3 weeks (4 sessions); Procapil schedule not stated in abstract4 PRP sessions at 3-week intervals (total length not stated in abstract)54[2] 54 men with androgenetic alopecia (RCT, 27 per arm)
Humanstopical caffeine + Procapil 3%3% Procapilnot characterised (short report without abstract)not characterised—[3] men with pattern hair loss

Side effects and risks

Regulatory status (checked 2026-09-30)

Report a side effect

If something went wrong after using any product, tell a clinician and report it. Reports are how regulators find contaminated or mislabeled products.

Common questions

Does procapil block DHT?

No supporting study The abstracts of the human Procapil studies report hair ratings and photographs, not DHT or other hormones, and we found no study of Procapil or biotinoyl tripeptide-1 that measured DHT.[1][2]

Procapil vs minoxidil?

No supporting study We found no head-to-head trial against minoxidil or finasteride. In a meta-analysis of randomized trials, minoxidil (in men and in women) and 1 mg finasteride (in men) beat placebo.[6][7]

Does procapil work?

Human, small or uncontrolled We found no trial of biotinoyl tripeptide-1. The human studies we found test Procapil, a blend that includes biotinoyl tripeptide-1 as sellers describe it (none of the studies' abstracts lists its contents), together with platelet-rich plasma (PRP) or caffeine. In a 160-person non-randomized trial, PRP with a Procapil solution (strength in the doses table) scored better than PRP alone after 6 months; in a 54-man randomized trial, Procapil with PRP did worse than redensyl, saw palmetto and biotin with PRP.[1][2][3]

References

Every reference below was matched to its PubMed or DOI record (title checked) before publication. "Verified" means the paper exists and is the one named; what it supports is stated next to each claim.

  1. COMPARISON OF PLATELET RICH THERAPY ALONE WITH PLATELET RICH THERAPY ALONG WITH DAILY TOPICAL 5% PROCAPIL APPLICATION FOR THE TREATMENT OF ANDROGENETIC ALOPECIA. J Ayub Med Coll Abbottabad (2024). PubMed 39609969 DOI
  2. A Comparative Study of Topical Procapil With Platelet-Rich Plasma Therapy Versus Topical Redensyl, Saw Palmetto, and Biotin With Platelet-Rich Plasma Therapy in the Treatment of Androgenetic Alopecia. Cureus (2023). PubMed 37292551 DOI
  3. Assessment of the efficacy and tolerability of a topical formulation containing caffeine and Procapil 3% for improvement of male pattern hair loss. J Cosmet Dermatol (2024). PubMed 37990760 DOI
  4. Topical Alternatives for Hair Loss: Beyond the Conventional. Int J Trichology (2025). PubMed 40654553 DOI
  5. Overview of Short Peptides for Hair Loss. Biomedicines (2026). PubMed 42072405 DOI
  6. The effectiveness of treatments for androgenetic alopecia: A systematic review and meta-analysis. J Am Acad Dermatol (2017). PubMed 28396101 DOI
  7. Relative Efficacy of Minoxidil and the 5-α Reductase Inhibitors in Androgenetic Alopecia Treatment of Male Patients: A Network Meta-analysis. JAMA Dermatol (2022). PubMed 35107565 DOI

Written by SoftMaxx AI editorial · Citations checked against PubMed records · Updated 2026-10-01 · Not medically reviewed. Editorial standards · Evidence grading and update log.

Keep reading