SoftMaxx AI sells no peptides and takes no vendor money.
Human RCT The best evidence is one randomized, double-blind split-face trial: 93 women used a moisturizer containing palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS) at the trial concentration (see the doses table) on one side of the face and the same moisturizer without it on the other for 12 weeks, and fine lines and wrinkles improved significantly more on the peptide side. A smaller 21-person, 8-week randomized trial found a palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 cream did better than an acetylhexapeptide-3 cream and placebo.[1][2]
What Matrixyl is
Pal-KTTKS, the palmitoyl pentapeptide sold as Matrixyl (see Names on this page), is a five-amino-acid peptide (Lys-Thr-Thr-Lys-Ser, KTTKS) with a fatty-acid (palmitoyl) tail, used in anti-wrinkle creams [1][3]. The KTTKS sequence comes from type I procollagen, the collagen precursor [4], and pal-KTTKS was designed as a topical agent to stimulate collagen production [1]. A 2011 review notes relatively few clinical studies of it [3].
The palmitic-acid tail makes it more stable than plain KTTKS and lets more of it into the skin, at least in mouse skin tests [5].
- In vitro (cells) In fibroblast cultures the KTTKS fragment is the minimal sequence that stimulates type I and III collagen and fibronectin production. Palmitoylation makes it more stable and lets measurable amounts reach the epidermis and dermis in mouse skin, whereas unmodified KTTKS did not penetrate.[4][5][3]
Claims vs. evidence
Each popular claim, graded by the strongest study behind it. The words in quotation marks are how the claim is marketed; the text after the grade is what the studies show.
- Claim as marketed
Reduces fine lines and wrinkles
Human RCT A positive 12-week split-face randomized trial (n=93) and a small 8-week three-arm randomized trial (n=21) in which a palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 cream did better than an acetylhexapeptide-3 cream and placebo. Neither abstract reports how large the improvement was.[1][2] - Claim as marketed
Boosts collagen production
In vitro (cells) Collagen stimulation was measured in cultured fibroblasts. The two human trials measured wrinkles (image analysis, expert grading, photos) and, in the smaller one, skin hydration and elasticity; neither abstract reports a collagen measurement.[4][1][2] - Claim as marketed
General topical peptide anti-aging benefit
Expert review A 2026 meta-analysis of 19 randomized trials of oral and topical peptides found a modest pooled wrinkle effect, largely driven by oral polypeptides. Effects on elasticity and density were inconsistent.[6]
Common myths, checked
- Common belief
Matrixyl is proven to rebuild collagen in your face.
In vitro (cells) Collagen stimulation was shown in cell culture. The 93-person trial measured wrinkles and fine lines by image analysis and expert grading; its abstract reports no collagen measurement.[4][1] - Common belief
Matrixyl is a copper peptide.
Expert review It contains no copper: pal-KTTKS is a palmitoyl pentapeptide [1] whose KTTKS sequence comes from type I procollagen [4].[3][4][1] - Common belief
Matrixyl works as well as tretinoin.
No supporting study We found no head-to-head trial of Matrixyl against tretinoin. The two trials we found compared a moisturizer with palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS) against the same moisturizer without it, and a palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 cream against an acetylhexapeptide-3 cream and placebo.[1][2]
Doses used in studies (not a recommendation)
These are the amounts given to the people, animals or cells in the cited studies, copied as reported. They are a record of what was tested, not dosing instructions, and nothing here says what you should take.
| Studied in | Route | Amount reported | How often | How long | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Humans | topical moisturizer, split-face | 3 ppm pal-KTTKS in a moisturizer (the trial concentration) | not stated in abstract | 12 weeks | 93 | [1] 93 Caucasian women aged 35–55 with photoaged skin; double-blind, placebo-controlled, split-face |
| Humans | topical cream to periorbital area | not stated in abstract | twice daily | 8 weeks | 21 | [2] 21 Indonesian women aged 26–55 (3 arms) |
Side effects and risks
- Human RCT Well tolerated by the skin in the 93-person, 12-week trial[1]
Regulatory status (checked 2026-09-30)
- United States (FDA)We found no FDA-approved product containing palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 in Drugs@FDA (searched 2026-10-01). (FDA:
Drugs@FDA search: matrixyl — no approved product found
) FDA does not approve cosmetic products or ingredients (other than color additives) before they go on the market, and a product intended to affect the structure or any function of the body is legally a drug. (FDA:Is It a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both?
) - CanadaWe found no product containing palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 in Health Canada’s Drug Product Database (searched 2026-10-01). (Health Canada:
Health Canada Drug Product Database search: matrixyl — no product found
) - Sport (WADA)WADA’s Prohibited List does not name palmitoyl pentapeptide-4. WADA states that topical cosmetic products may contain prohibited peptides or growth factors and that using cosmetic products containing such substances is prohibited; we found no WADA statement on whether palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 is one of them. (WADA:
World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026
; WADA:World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List
)
Official sources: FDA: Is It a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both?
· WADA: World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026
· WADA: World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List
Report a side effect
If something went wrong after using any product, tell a clinician and report it. Reports are how regulators find contaminated or mislabeled products.
- FDA MedWatch (United States)
- Canada Vigilance Program (Canada)
Common questions
Does Matrixyl work?
Human RCT The best evidence is one randomized, double-blind split-face trial: 93 women used a moisturizer containing palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS) at the trial concentration (see the doses table) on one side of the face and the same moisturizer without it on the other for 12 weeks, and fine lines and wrinkles improved significantly more on the peptide side. A smaller 21-person, 8-week randomized trial found a palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 cream did better than an acetylhexapeptide-3 cream and placebo.[1][2]
References
Every reference below was matched to its PubMed or DOI record (title checked) before publication. "Verified" means the paper exists and is the one named; what it supports is stated next to each claim.
Topical palmitoyl pentapeptide provides improvement in photoaged human facial skin.
PubMed 18492182 DOIDouble-blind, Randomized Trial on the Effectiveness of Acetylhexapeptide-3 Cream and Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 Cream for Crow's Feet.
PubMed 36909866Topically applied KTTKS: a review.
PubMed 21535443 DOIA pentapeptide from type I procollagen promotes extracellular matrix production.
PubMed 8486721 DOIDermal Stability and In Vitro Skin Permeation of Collagen Pentapeptides (KTTKS and palmitoyl-KTTKS).
PubMed 25143811 DOIOral and topical peptides for skin aging: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
PubMed 41924746 DOI
Keep reading
- Best peptides for skin, ranked by evidence→
- Copper peptides vs retinol: what the evidence shows→
- Peptides for looksmaxxing: what the evidence actually shows→
- GHK-Cu (copper tripeptide-1): what the evidence shows→
- Argireline (acetyl hexapeptide-8): what the evidence shows→
- Matrixyl 3000 (palmitoyl tripeptide-1 + palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7): what the evidence shows→
- All peptide pages, by evidence→