SoftMaxx AI sells no peptides and takes no vendor money.
Human, small or uncontrolled We found no trial comparing copper peptides with retinol or tretinoin. Topical GHK-Cu's own human evidence is thin: a few small studies and one case report. This page does not review the retinoid trials, so it cannot rank the two.[1][2][3]
The tier describes the evidence for topical GHK-Cu's effect on skin; stronger evidence on this page concerns palmitoyl pentapeptide (Matrixyl) in one 93-woman trial.
The verdict
| Copper peptides (GHK-Cu) | Retinoids (retinol, tretinoin) | |
|---|---|---|
| Human evidence on skin | A few small studies [1] and one case report on crow's feet [2] | Not reviewed on this page |
| Head-to-head with the other | None found | None found |
| Lab evidence | Strong in cells [4] and rat wounds [5] | Not covered here |
| Gets into the skin | Copper from GHK-Cu crossed excised skin in a lab test with an unlimited dose [6] | Not covered here |
On the evidence checked here, topical GHK-Cu is unproven for fine lines in people. This page does not grade retinoids; a dermatologist or pharmacist can speak to them.
- Claim as marketed
Copper peptides work as well as retinol
No supporting study We found no head-to-head trial of a copper peptide against retinol or tretinoin. GHK-Cu's published human skin data are a few small studies and one case report.[1][2] - Expert review Two reviews find few clinical studies of topical GHK-Cu and call the human evidence thin.[3][7]
What copper peptides have
GHK-Cu's case rests on lab work. In people, the published record is small: a 2026 review lists older small cosmetic reports, a 13-person post-laser study that was negative on objective measures and an 18-person eyebrow study [1], plus one case report [2].
- Animal GHK-Cu raised collagen production in cultured fibroblasts and in rat wound chambers.[4][5]
- Case report One published case report describes a 59-year-old man using GHK-Cu with four other actives and a device, weekly for 12 weeks.[2]
- In vitro (cells) In a lab test on excised human skin, under an unlimited-dose setup for 48 hours, unlike normal use, copper from GHK-Cu crossed the skin in amounts the authors called potentially effective for inflammatory disease. A 2025 review calls GHK-Cu relatively skin permeable.[6][3]
What the wider peptide evidence says
Across 19 randomized trials of oral and topical peptides, the pooled effect on wrinkles was modest, and it came largely from oral polypeptides [8].
- Expert review A 2026 meta-analysis of 19 randomized trials of oral and topical peptides found a modest pooled wrinkle effect, largely driven by oral polypeptides. Its abstract does not mention GHK-Cu.[8]
- Human RCT In a 12-week trial of 93 women, a moisturizer with palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS) gave fewer fine lines than the same moisturizer without it.[9]
"Works like retinol" claims
For the "works like retinol" claims below, we found no peer-reviewed head-to-head trial behind the comparison.
- Claim as marketed
Matrixyl matches retinol
No supporting study We found no peer-reviewed head-to-head trial of Matrixyl against retinol. The two trials we found compared a moisturizer with palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS) against the same moisturizer without it, and a palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 cream against an acetylhexapeptide-3 cream and placebo.[9][10] - Claim as marketed
SYN-COLL works like retinol
No supporting study SYN-COLL is palmitoyl tripeptide-5 as sellers describe it. A 2021 review of peptides in sensitive-skin cosmetics, palmitoyl tripeptide-5 among them, found their supporting data mostly in patents and supplier brochures rather than randomized placebo-controlled studies. We found no trial comparing it with retinol.[11]
Using both
We found no published study of how copper peptides and retinol interact, for better or worse.
If you combine them, change one product at a time so you can tell what your skin is reacting to.
Measure the routine you choose
Whichever you pick, judge it over 8 to 12 weeks: the studies on this page ran 8 weeks [10] and 12 weeks [9][2].
Scan with SoftMaxx AI before you start, then every 4 weeks in the same light. The skin score reads texture, pores, sun-aging signs and hydration from a photo. Lighting moves it, so look for a trend across scans.
Doses used in studies (not a recommendation)
These are the amounts given to the people, animals or cells in the cited studies, copied as reported. They are a record of what was tested, not dosing instructions, and nothing here says what you should take.
| Studied in | Route | Amount reported | How often | How long | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| human | topical, with a microdroplet resurfacing device | not stated in abstract (multi-ingredient solution) | once weekly | 12 weeks | 1 | [2] GHK-Cu case report. |
| human | topical (split-face moisturizer) | 3 ppm pal-KTTKS (palmitoyl pentapeptide) | not stated in the abstract | 12 weeks | 93 | [9] For comparison; the abstract names the peptide pal-KTTKS. |
Side effects and risks
Report a side effect
If something went wrong after using any product, tell a clinician and report it. Reports are how regulators find contaminated or mislabeled products.
- FDA MedWatch (United States)
- Canada Vigilance Program (Canada)
Common questions
GHK-Cu vs tretinoin: which is better?
We found no trial comparing them. GHK-Cu's published human skin data are a few small studies and one case report, and a 2026 review calls the clinical evidence sparse.[1][2]
Is Matrixyl or retinol better?
We found no head-to-head trial. The palmitoyl pentapeptide trials we found are one 93-woman trial and one 21-woman trial, neither against retinol.[9][10]
Does GHK-Cu work topically?
Unproven in people. Lab results are strong, but a 2025 review finds few clinical studies.[4][3]
Palmitoyl tripeptide-5 vs retinol: which is better?
We found no trial comparing palmitoyl tripeptide-5 with retinol. A 2021 review found that support for it and six other cosmetic peptides sits mostly in patents and supplier brochures.[11]
References
Every reference below was matched to its PubMed or DOI record (title checked) before publication. "Verified" means the paper exists and is the one named; what it supports is stated next to each claim.
GHK-Cu as a Bioactive Metallopeptide and Drug-Delivery Cargo: Coordination Chemistry, Formulation Science, Therapeutic Evidence, and a Translational Roadmap.
PubMed 42797253 DOISignificant improvement in crow's feet after treatment with Jet-M and a mixed solution of copper-GHK, oligo-hyaluronic acid, rhodiolar extract, tranexamic acid, and β-glucan (GHR formulation).
PubMed 27064823 DOITopically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective.
PubMed 39963574 DOIStimulation of collagen synthesis in fibroblast cultures by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+.
PubMed 3169264 DOIIn vivo stimulation of connective tissue accumulation by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+ in rat experimental wounds.
PubMed 8227353 DOIHuman skin penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as a function of skin layer.
PubMed 20721598 DOIA Systematic Review of the Mechanisms and Therapeutic Applications of GHK-Cu (Glycyl-L-Histidyl-L-Lysine-Copper Complex) in Topical Microneedle Delivery: A Case for Expanded Clinical Trials.
PubMed 42787770 DOIOral and topical peptides for skin aging: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
PubMed 41924746 DOITopical palmitoyl pentapeptide provides improvement in photoaged human facial skin.
PubMed 18492182 DOIDouble-blind, Randomized Trial on the Effectiveness of Acetylhexapeptide-3 Cream and Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 Cream for Crow's Feet.
PubMed 36909866Usage of Synthetic Peptides in Cosmetics for Sensitive Skin.
PubMed 34451799 DOI