SoftMaxx AI sells no peptides and takes no vendor money.
Human, small or uncontrolled Peer-reviewed before-and-after data for GHK-Cu on the skin are small: one single-patient report, a 13-person post-laser study that was negative on objective measures and an 18-person eyebrow study, plus older reports a 2026 review calls small or incompletely characterized.[1][2]
The verdict
Many GHK-Cu "before and after" claims online cite studies for which we found no peer-reviewed paper. What we could verify is thin.
This page covers GHK-Cu applied to the skin only.
- Expert review A 2025 review of topical GHK notes a "surprising absence of clinical studies".[3]
- Expert review A 2026 systematic review calls the GHK-Cu clinical evidence sparse. It lists a 13-person study after laser resurfacing that was negative on objective endpoints and an 18-person split-face eyebrow study that reported positive cosmetic hair outcomes.[2]
What the trials measured
| What changed | By how much | Over how long | Study | People |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crow's feet | Reported as a significant improvement | 12 weeks, weekly | Case report; GHK-Cu mixed with four other actives, applied with a device | 1 [1] |
| Skin after laser | Negative on objective endpoints | Not stated in the review | Reported in a 2026 systematic review | 13 [2] |
| Eyebrow hair | Positive cosmetic hair outcomes reported | Not stated in the review | Split-face study, reported in a 2026 systematic review | 18 [2] |
| Closure of small test wounds | No results yet | 14 days of gel; closure read at 21 days, scars at 12 weeks | Registered placebo-controlled trial, recruiting | 60 planned [4] |
Older cosmetic studies of GHK-Cu creams are often quoted online; a 2026 review calls these historical reports small or incompletely characterized [2], and we could not verify them as peer-reviewed papers, so they are left out.
- Case report One published case report is a 59-year-old man. He used GHK-Cu mixed with four other actives and a device, weekly for 12 weeks.[1]
What real peptide timelines look like
Other skin peptides do have trials with a clear before and after [5] [6] [7]. They show what a realistic result looks like: weeks to months, modest changes, measured by instruments.
These results belong to those ingredients, not to GHK-Cu. Other routes of using GHK-Cu are compared on GHK-Cu topical vs injectable.
- Human RCT (palmitoyl pentapeptide data) Palmitoyl pentapeptide (pal-KTTKS): fewer fine lines than the same moisturizer without it, in 93 women over 12 weeks.[5]
- Human RCT (argireline data) Argireline: fewer eye-area wrinkles than placebo in 60 Chinese subjects over 4 weeks.[6]
- Human RCT (oral collagen peptides data) One specific oral collagen peptide product: about 20% less eye-wrinkle volume in 114 women over 8 weeks; in a 2025 meta-analysis, trials without pharmaceutical-company funding showed no wrinkle effect.[7][8]
Why online before-and-after photos mislead
A photo pair has no control group.
The published GHK-Cu case report mixed five actives with a device, so even it cannot isolate GHK-Cu [1].
How to measure your own skin with the scan
You can't run a controlled experiment on yourself, but you can measure carefully. The aim is a record, not a promise.
1. Scan before you start. Same room, same light, no makeup, neutral face. 2. Change one product at a time. Otherwise you can't tell what did what. 3. Rescan every 4 weeks for 12 weeks. That matches the longest studies above [5] [1]. 4. Read the trend, not one scan. The SoftMaxx AI skin score is an AI read of a photo. Lighting moves it, so single jumps mean little.
The skin score looks at texture, pores, acne and scarring, under-eye circles, sun-aging signs and hydration. It is not a diagnosis.
Doses used in studies (not a recommendation)
These are the amounts given to the people, animals or cells in the cited studies, copied as reported. They are a record of what was tested, not dosing instructions, and nothing here says what you should take.
| Studied in | Route | Amount reported | How often | How long | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| human | topical, with a microdroplet resurfacing device | not reported (multi-ingredient solution) | once weekly | 12 weeks | 1 | [1] Case report, one 59-year-old man. |
| human | topical gel (split-wound) | 0.1% w/w GHK-Cu gel, about 0.5 g as a thin film | once daily | 14 days; closure assessed at 21 days, scars at 12 weeks | — | [4] Registered trial, recruiting; 60 participants planned, each with two wounds, one on GHK-Cu gel and one on vehicle gel; no results. |
Side effects and risks
- Case report GHK-Cu with four other actives and a device: no adverse effects reported in the case report[1]
Report a side effect
If something went wrong after using any product, tell a clinician and report it. Reports are how regulators find contaminated or mislabeled products.
- FDA MedWatch (United States)
- Canada Vigilance Program (Canada)
Common questions
Does GHK-Cu work topically?
Unproven in people. It raised collagen in cell and rat studies, but a 2025 review notes a surprising absence of clinical studies.[11][12][3]
How long does GHK-Cu take to show results?
No controlled trial we found answers this for GHK-Cu. The published case ran 12 weeks; trials of other skin peptides ran from 4 weeks (argireline) to 12 weeks (palmitoyl pentapeptide).[1][6][5]
GHK-Cu vs tretinoin: which shows more change?
We found no trial comparing them. GHK-Cu's published human skin data are a few small studies and one case report.[2][1]
Is GHK-Cu FDA approved?
We found no FDA-approved GHK-Cu product in Drugs@FDA. On the skin it is used in cosmetic anti-wrinkle products. FDA lists non-injectable GHK-Cu in compounding Category 1, "Bulk Drug Substances Under Evaluation"; that is not an approval.[3][13] Source: FDA: Drugs@FDA search: ghk-cu — no approved product found
References
Every reference below was matched to its PubMed or DOI record (title checked) before publication. "Verified" means the paper exists and is the one named; what it supports is stated next to each claim.
Significant improvement in crow's feet after treatment with Jet-M and a mixed solution of copper-GHK, oligo-hyaluronic acid, rhodiolar extract, tranexamic acid, and β-glucan (GHR formulation).
PubMed 27064823 DOIGHK-Cu as a Bioactive Metallopeptide and Drug-Delivery Cargo: Coordination Chemistry, Formulation Science, Therapeutic Evidence, and a Translational Roadmap.
PubMed 42797253 DOITopically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective.
PubMed 39963574 DOINCT07437586 — A Phase 2, Randomized, Double-Blind, Vehicle-Controlled, Split-Wound Study of Topical GHK-Cu (Copper(II)-Peptide Complex) Gel to Accelerate Re-Epithelialization of Standardized Acute Skin Wounds in Healthy Adults
SourceTopical palmitoyl pentapeptide provides improvement in photoaged human facial skin.
PubMed 18492182 DOIThe anti-wrinkle efficacy of argireline, a synthetic hexapeptide, in Chinese subjects: a randomized, placebo-controlled study.
PubMed 23417317 DOIOral intake of specific bioactive collagen peptides reduces skin wrinkles and increases dermal matrix synthesis.
PubMed 24401291 DOIEffects of Collagen Supplements on Skin Aging: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.
PubMed 40324552 DOIHuman skin penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as a function of skin layer.
PubMed 20721598 DOIAre We Ready to Measure Skin Permeation of Modern Antiaging GHK-Cu Tripeptide Encapsulated in Liposomes?
PubMed 39795193 DOIStimulation of collagen synthesis in fibroblast cultures by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+.
PubMed 3169264 DOIIn vivo stimulation of connective tissue accumulation by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+ in rat experimental wounds.
PubMed 8227353 DOIBulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act
Source
Keep reading
- GHK-Cu topical vs injectable: what the evidence shows→
- Best peptides for skin, ranked by evidence→
- Copper peptides vs retinol: what the evidence shows→
- Peptides for skin tightening and wrinkles: evidence and limits→
- Peptides for looksmaxxing: what the evidence actually shows→
- All peptide pages, by evidence→