S SoftMaxx AI ← Peptides hub
Peptides · Evidence-graded guide

Peptides for dark circles: what the studies measured

We found no peptide study that measured dark circles. What the eye-area peptide trials did measure, how big the effects were, and how to track yours.

Written by SoftMaxx AI editorial · Citations checked against PubMed records · Updated 2026-10-01 · Not medically reviewed · How we grade evidence

SoftMaxx AI sells no peptides and takes no vendor money.

The verdict · strongest evidence No supporting study

No supporting study We found no peptide study that measured dark circles; the eye-area peptide trials measured wrinkles instead.[1]

The tier describes the evidence for any peptide's effect on dark circles; stronger evidence on this page concerns eye-area wrinkles.

The verdict

In the peptide papers we verified, we found none that measured under-eye darkness or shadowing.

What exists are small trials on wrinkles around the eyes [1][2]. Those measured wrinkles, not color.

What the eye-area trials did measure

PeptideWhat was measuredPeopleLengthResult
ArgirelineEye-area wrinkles604 weeksBetter than placebo [1]
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 vs acetylhexapeptide-3Crow's feet218 weeksPalmitoyl pentapeptide-4 best [2]
Eye patch with acetyl octapeptide-3 (SNAP-8, as sellers describe it)Wrinkles2428 daysEffect not isolated from other actives [3]
One specific oral collagen peptide productEye-wrinkle volume1148 weeksAbout 20% less [4]; collagen skin benefit not seen in trials without drug-company funding [5]
GHK-CuCrow's feet112 weeksCase report, multi-ingredient [6]

Why "Botox-like" eye peptides are oversold

A 2025 review calls acetyl hexapeptide-8 (Argireline) "botox-like" [7]. In lab tests on human skin, acetyl hexapeptide-8 barely passed the surface [8].

Track your under-eye area

To follow your under-eye area over time, use consistent photos.

The SoftMaxx AI skin score includes under-eye circles, read from a photo. Scan in the same light at the same time of day, then every 4 weeks. Read the trend across scans, not one result. It is a measurement, not a diagnosis.

Doses used in studies (not a recommendation)

These are the amounts given to the people, animals or cells in the cited studies, copied as reported. They are a record of what was tested, not dosing instructions, and nothing here says what you should take.

Studied inRouteAmount reportedHow oftenHow longnSource
humantopical (applied to peri-orbital wrinkles)not stated in abstracttwice daily4 weeks60[1] Argireline vs placebo; wrinkles, not dark circles.
humantopical (eye-area cream)not stated in abstracttwice daily8 weeks21[2] Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, acetylhexapeptide-3, placebo; crow's feet.
humanoral2.5 g collagen peptidesonce daily8 weeks114[4] Women aged 45–65; eye-wrinkle volume.

Side effects and risks

Report a side effect

If something went wrong after using any product, tell a clinician and report it. Reports are how regulators find contaminated or mislabeled products.

Common questions

How long does argireline take to work?

The placebo-controlled argireline trial we found ran 4 weeks around the eyes; an 8-week trial tested acetylhexapeptide-3, and its abstract does not state whether that is the same substance as argireline. Both measured wrinkles, not dark circles.[1][2]

Does SNAP-8 work topically?

Unclear. The one human study we found tested an eye patch with acetyl octapeptide-3 (SNAP-8, as sellers describe it) and several other actives, so the peptide's own effect is not isolated.[3]

Is SNAP-8 Botox?

No. We found no study showing SNAP-8 reaches facial muscles, and the one human study we found tested a patch with acetyl octapeptide-3 (SNAP-8, as sellers describe it) and other actives. The "botox-like" label is used for argireline, a different peptide patterned on part of the nerve-signal protein SNAP-25 [1]; a 2025 review calls acetyl hexapeptide-8 "botox-like" [7].[1][7][3]

Does argireline work like Botox?

We found no measurement showing it does. In lab tests on human skin, acetyl hexapeptide-8 (Argireline) barely got past the surface, and a 2025 review says how it might relax muscle when applied to skin is incompletely understood.[8][7]

References

Every reference below was matched to its PubMed or DOI record (title checked) before publication. "Verified" means the paper exists and is the one named; what it supports is stated next to each claim.

  1. The anti-wrinkle efficacy of argireline, a synthetic hexapeptide, in Chinese subjects: a randomized, placebo-controlled study. Am J Clin Dermatol (2013). PubMed 23417317 DOI
  2. Double-blind, Randomized Trial on the Effectiveness of Acetylhexapeptide-3 Cream and Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 Cream for Crow's Feet. J Clin Aesthet Dermatol (2023). PubMed 36909866
  3. Clinical Safety and Efficacy Evaluation of a Dissolving Microneedle Patch Having Dual Anti-Wrinkle Effects With Safe and Long-Term Activities. Ann Dermatol (2024). PubMed 39082657 DOI
  4. Oral intake of specific bioactive collagen peptides reduces skin wrinkles and increases dermal matrix synthesis. Skin Pharmacol Physiol (2014). PubMed 24401291 DOI
  5. Effects of Collagen Supplements on Skin Aging: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. Am J Med (2025). PubMed 40324552 DOI
  6. Significant improvement in crow's feet after treatment with Jet-M and a mixed solution of copper-GHK, oligo-hyaluronic acid, rhodiolar extract, tranexamic acid, and β-glucan (GHR formulation). J Cosmet Laser Ther (2016). PubMed 27064823 DOI
  7. Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 in Cosmeceuticals-A Review of Skin Permeability and Efficacy. Int J Mol Sci (2025). PubMed 40565185 DOI
  8. In vitro skin penetration of acetyl hexapeptide-8 from a cosmetic formulation. Cutan Ocul Toxicol (2015). PubMed 24754410 DOI
  9. SNARE Modulators and SNARE Mimetic Peptides. Biomolecules (2022). PubMed 36551207 DOI
  10. Investigating the effects of Argireline in a skin serum containing hyaluronic acids on skin surface wrinkles using the Visia® Complexion Analysis camera system for objective skin analysis. GMS Interdiscip Plast Reconstr Surg DGPW (2023). PubMed 38024099 DOI

Written by SoftMaxx AI editorial · Citations checked against PubMed records · Updated 2026-10-01 · Not medically reviewed. Editorial standards · Evidence grading and update log.

Keep reading